you're reading...
news, sports

>www iccworldcup2011 | Pakistan 30 man squad | Pakistan 30 man squad for world cup | Pakistan 30 man squad for world cup 2011 | the squad of pakist icc world cup | england world cup 30 players | www worldcup2011 com | Pakistan squad 30 players for world cup | 30 men squad for ICC world cup 2011 of Pakistan | Pakistan squad for icc world cup 2011 | Pakistan 30 player scod for worldcup | Pakistan 15 men squad for world cup 2011 | www icc-worldcup2011 com | Pakistan 15 man squad for world cup 2011 | Pakistan 30 man squad for icc world cup | Pakistan 30 man | Pakistan world cup squard 2011 | 30 Pakistani squad to worldcup2011 | pak 15 men squad for 2011 wc | Pakistan cricket team 30 man squid for world cou 2011 | Pakistan 30th man squad for world cup 2011 | pak 15 men squard for wc | www iccworldcup2011 timing | Pakistan tem nam playr 2011 world cup | www iccworldcup Pakistan com


Lahore: Pakistan selectors on Tuesday included spot-fixing suspect Kamran Akmal in a preliminary 30-man squad for the ICC World Cup but left out former captain Shoaib Malik and leg-spinner Danish Kaneria.

The committee twice deferred announcing the squad as they sought clearance from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on players who were reportedly under suspicion of match-fixing during Pakistan’s tour of England last year.

Shahid Afridi is expected to retain the One-day captaincy for the ICC World Cup. The 10th World Cup will be hosted jointly by Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka from February 19 to April 2, with 14 teams competing.

Pakistan will miss former opener Salman Butt and pace bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Aamer, who are suspended on spot-fixing charges. They appear before an International Cricket Council (ICC) tribunal in Doha from January 6-11 and could face life bans.

A squad for six One-dayers against New Zealand will be announced next week. Pakistan received a two-week extension from the ICC on the December 19 deadline to announce the probables as they sought clearance on three players. Teams now have until January 19 to announce a 15-man squad.

“We are satisfied that we have selected the best squad from amongst the available players,” said chief selector Mohsin Khan. “I request the whole nation to back the selected players who need all the encouragement to win the World Cup,” said Khan, a former Pakistan opener.

Commenting on the media reports regarding the clearance of certain players, PCB chairman Ijaz Butt said: “The integrity committee has given its views on some players to the selection committee, which has taken into consideration that input and has selected the probables.”

Kamran, 28, has been out of the team since Pakistan’s most recent tour of England was rocked by spot-fixing allegations. He was also not selected for the team’s neutral-venue series against South Africa.

He was excluded from the Twenty20 and Test squad for the New Zealand tour despite recovering from an appendix operation. He has since featured in domestic matches and scored his highest first-class score of 268.

But there have been suspicions of match-fixing against Kamran as well, with the ICC reportedly issuing notice to him regarding Pakistan’s controversial defeat against Australia in the Sydney Test in January 2010.

Kamran claimed, however, he had contacted the ICC regarding his selection and was told that he was cleared for selection for the national team. The 28-year-old Malik, who married Indian tennis star Sania Mirza last April, has been out of favour since a Twenty20 series against Australia in England in July.

Kamran, Malik and Kaneria appeared before PCB’s integrity committee, formed on the directives of ICC, and submitted details of their assets and accounts last week but only Kamran was cleared.

Veteran batsman Mohammad Yousuf was also recalled among the probables after being left out of the Test series against New Zealand because of fitness problems. Also included was all-rounder Rana Naved-ul-Hasan.

World Cup 2011 preliminary squad: Shahid Afridi, Ahmed Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umer, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Naved Yasin, Kamran Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Salman Ahmed, Abdul Razzaq, Yasir Arafat, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanveer, Tanveer Ahmed, Junaid Khan, Aizaz Cheama, Asad Ali.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: